Awardees (1999)

Casting-Award 1999 to Nessie Nesslauer

Since 1997, an award has been presented for casting ability in Germany at the International Television and Film Festival in Cologne (Cologne Conference). The award is intended to show appreciation for the work of the experts who cast films and series, a group who, in spite of their enormous significance, do not get the attention they deserve, neither in the industry nor in the public arena. The first award winners were An Dorthe Braker and Heta Mantscheff.

The 1999 Casting Award goes to Nessie Nesslauer who was responsible for casting such exciting productions as NACH FÜNF IM URWALD (After Five in the Jungle) (Director: Hans-Christian Schmid) or JENSEITS DER STILLE (On the Other Side of Solitude) (Director: Caroline Link). She was originally a specialist in the difficult field of child and youth casting where she experienced some especially happy moments – making discoveries that last a long time. Nessie Nesslauer also played a great role in the success of PÜNKTCHEN UND ANTON (once again directed by Caroline Link) and the award-winning made-for-TV works NUR FÜR EINE NACHT (Only for a Night) (Director: Michael Gutmann) and DER NEFFE (The Nephew) (Director: Gabriela Zerhau).

She has worked intensively together with the producers Jakob Claussen und Thomas Wöbke over the past years, an unusually successful cooperation any way you look at it; Franka Potente’s career as movie star began with NACH FÜNF IM URWALD – a direct result of the precise eye of Nessie Nesslauer for capable talents that can make their way in the business. At the moment, Nessie Nesslauer is casting the film being made of »Crazy«, the early hit novel by Benjamin Lebert, once again for Claussen & Wöbke.

Born in Munich, she ran the Bavarian capital’s first vegetarian fast-food restaurant for four years before getting to know the film and television world from a variety of angles, from executive producer to director assistant to her own documentaries. Then she came to Claussen & Wöbke as casting agent and, in 1996, set up her own casting agency in Munich.

The Cologne Conference would like to congratulate Nessie Nesslauer on receiving the Casting Award for 1999.


1999 Producer Award to Jutta Lieck-Klenke

Since last year, an award for the creative and organizing talent of producers has been handed out at the International Television and Film Festival in Cologne (Cologne Conference). The award is intended to acknowledge German-language producers who have distinguished themselves through high-quality, original projects which have had a great effect on the public.

The 1999 Producer Award goes to Jutta Lieck-Klenke whose work stands for exactly the type of popular quality that has enabled the medium of television to reach such a high level of achievement. Almost every television viewer in Germany will have seen – and many times at that – the noteworthy and carefully executed projects of Jutta Lieck from the quality production company of Trebitsch – be it the series GIRLFRIENDS, based on the famous books by Christian Pfannenschmid, or the miniseries BELLA BLOCK starring Hannelore Hoger. For these made-for-TV movies in ZDF (Germany’s second public-trust network), all patterned after the best in psychological whodunits from Britain, subdued though emotional, Jutta Lieck was able to win over such high-profile directors as Max Färberböck, Erwin Keusch, Markus Imboden and Christian Görlitz.

Jutta Lieck, born in Essen, studied both Economics and Theater Sciences but also German literature and language. She also has a diploma in General Economics and spent nine years proofreading and then publishing the »panther« book series for young people at the Rowohlt publishing house. In 1987, she became Dramatist and Producer at Trebitsch in Hamburg where, since 1996, she has also been in the management, together with Katharina Trebitsch.

Jutta Lieck has the luck that her filmography begins with two highly acclaimed children’s and young peoples’ series at once (Arendt Agthe’s BRAUSEPULVER – Shower Powder – and WUNDERJAHRE – Wonderyears – both in ZDF). But it is not just the luck of the producer that has enabled her to maintain such a high level of quality in her projects, right up to her new film based on the Ingrid Noll novel DER HAHN IST TOT (The Rooster is Dead) which can be seen soon in ZDF. Jutta Lieck incorporates a clear vision of the possibilities productions offer her with the knowledge that, as producer, one has to keep an eye on current trends and industry politics without getting swept up by them.

The Cologne Conference congratulates Jutta Lieck-Klenke on winning the 1999 Producer Award.


TV Spielfilm Award 2000

The Award, presented since 1998, is intended to honour an extraordinary programme of that particular Cologne Conference. This year’s Award goes to DYBT VAND by Ole Bornedal.

The Cologne Conference congratulates to the Award.

Preisträger (1999)

Casting-Preis 1999 für Nessie Nesslauer

Beim Internationalen Fernseh- und Filmfest Köln (Cologne Conference) wird seit 1997 ein Preis für Casting-Leistungen in Deutschland verliehen. Mit dieser Auszeichnung soll die Arbeit von Casting-Fachleuten bei der Besetzung von Filmen und Serien gewürdigt werden, die trotz ihrer großen Bedeutung kaum die (branchen-)öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit gefunden hat, die ihr gebührt. Die ersten Preisträgerinnen waren An Dorthe Braker und Heta Mantscheff.

Den Casting-Preis 1999 erhält Nessie Nesslauer, die für die Besetzung von so aufsehenerregenden Poduktionen wie NACH FÜNF IM URWALD (Regie: Hans-Christian Schmid) oder JENSEITS DER STILLE (Regie: Caroline Link) verantwortlich war. Sie hat sich zuerst auf das schwierige Feld des Kinder- und Jugendcastings spezialisiert, in dem aber auch besonders glückhafte Momente zu erleben sind – wenn man Entdeckungen macht, die für lange Zeit nachwirken. An den Erfolgen von PÜNKTCHEN UND ANTON (wiederum unter der Regie von Caroline Link) sowie den preisgekrönten Fernsehstücken NUR FÜR EINE NACHT (Regie: Michael Gutmann) und DER NEFFE (Regie: Gabriela Zerhau) hat Nessie Nesslauer großen Anteil.

Sie hat in den vergangenen Jahren sehr intensiv mit den Produzenten Jakob Claussen und Thomas Wöbke zusammengerbeitet, ungewöhnlich erfolgreiches Teamwork in jeder Hinsicht; Franka Potentes Karriere als Kinostar begann mit NACH FÜNF IM URWALD – ein direktes Ergebnis des genauen Blicks von Nessie Nesslauer für durchsetzungsfähige Talente. Zur Zeit besetzt Nessie Nesslauer die Verfilmung von »Crazy«, nach dem frühen Roman-Hit von Benjamin Lebert, wieder für Claussen & Wöbke.

Die geborene Münchenerin hat vier Jahre lang das erste vegetarische Fastfood-Restaurant in der bayerischen Metropole betrieben, dann ganz vielfältig -von der Aufnahmeleitung über Regieassistenzen bis hin zu eigenen Dokumentationen – die Film- und Fernsehwelt kennengelernt, bevor sie 1994 als Casterin zu Claussen & Wöbke kam. 1996 gründete sie ihre eigene Casting-Agentur in München.

Die Cologne Conference gratuliert Nessie Nesslauer zum Casting-Preis 1999.


Produzenten-Preis 1999 für Jutta Lieck-Klenke

Beim Internationalen Fernseh- und Filmfest Köln (Cologne Conference) wird seit dem vergangenen Jahr ein Preis für die kreativen und organisatorischen Leistungen von Produzenten verliehen. Mit der Auszeichnung sollen Produzenten des deutschen Sprachraums gewürdigt werden, die sich besonders durch qualitativ hochwertige, orginelle und publikumswirksame Projekte ausgezeichnet haben.

Der Produzenten-Preis 1999 geht an Jutta Lieck-Klenke, deren Arbeit für jene Qualität im Populären steht, die das Medium Fernsehen auf die Höhe seiner Leistungsmöglichkeiten führt. Nahezu jeder Fernsehzuschauer in Deutschland wird – und dies gleich mehrfach – den ebenso auffälligen wie sorgsam betreuten Projekten von Jutta Lieck aus der Qualitätsschmiede Trebitsch begegnet sein – sei es der Serie GIRL FRIENDS, gedreht nach den famosen Büchern von Christian Pfannenschmid, oder dem Mehrteiler BELLA BLOCK mit Hannelore Hoger in der Hauptrolle. Für diese ZDF-Fernsehfilme, die sich an den besten britischen Traditionen unterkühlter und doch emotionaler Psychokrimis orientieren, gewann Jutta Lieck so profilierte Regisseure wie Max Färberböck, Erwin Keusch, Markus Imboden oder Christian Görlitz.

Jutta Lieck, geboren in Essen, hat schon im Studium Wirtschafts- und Theaterwissenschaften und Germanistik zusammengebracht. Sie ist diplomierte Volkswirtin und war neun Jahre lang Lektorin und Herausgeberin der Jugendbuch-Reihe »panther« bei Rowohlt. 1987 wurde sie Dramaturgin und Producerin bei Trebitsch in Hamburg, seit 1996 ist sie dort auch in der Geschäftsführung, zusammen mit Katharina Trebitsch.

Jutta Lieck hat das Glück, das ihre Filmographie gleich mit zwei vielgelobten Kinder- und Jugendserien beginnt (Arendt Agthes BRAUSEPULVER und WUNDERJAHRE, jeweils ZDF), aber es ist eben nicht nur Produzenten-Glück, daß sie das Niveau der von ihr betreuten Projekte konstant hoch halten konnte, bis hin zur neuen Verfilmung des Ingrid-Noll-Romans DER HAHN IST TOT, die demnächst im ZDF zu sehen sein wird. Bei Jutta Lieck kommt ein klarer Blick für die Produktionsmöglichkeiten mit der Erkenntnis zusammen, daß man als Produzentin zwar um die aktuellen Trends und und Branchenpolitiken wissen sollte, ihnen aber auch nicht immer auf den Leim gehen muß.

Die Cologne Conference gratuliert Jutta Lieck-Klenke zum Produzenten-Preis 1999.


TV Spielfilm-Preis 2000

Der seit 1998 verliehene TV Spielfilm-Preis geht dieses Jahr an den Festivalbeitrag DYBT VAND von Ole Bornedal. Mit dem Preis sollen vor allem jüngere Fernseh- und Filmarbeiten gewürdigt werden.

Die Cologne Conference gratuliert dem Preisträger.