Kultnacht

HEROES | TV-Series | USA 2006

HEROES


Saturday, September 27, 22:00 hrs,
in cooperation with RTL II


Save the Cheerleader, save the World!

When US network NBC extended invitations in June 2006 for the first screening of its new superheroes series at the »Comicon«, neither the hosts of the renowned international comic exhibition nor series creator Tim Kring was expecting that the 2,000 seat venue where the event was scheduled would not accommodate everyone. But HEROES was a cult show before anyone had seen a trailer, and the hall burst with people.

On 25 September 2006, at 08:00 PM, “Heroes” first went on air on NBC. The series combined everything that wouldn’t really work on television at the time: a story arc extending over 23 episodes, a giant ensemble. Still, over 14 million people watched it. HEROES was the most successful debut of the 2006 fall season.

The description reads like a science fiction story: people around the world notice changes about themselves. A cheerleader is immortal, a male nurse can fly, one young Japanese can bridge time and space, a stripper develops incredible powers, a cop on the beat can hear the thoughts of others, a junkie can paint the future. And, in the end, it is about nothing less than saving humanity. But HEROES is more than that. The bold combination of drama, comedy, tragedy, crime story, splatter and science fiction is carried by its comical, evil or likable characters. Their development from the normal to the supernatural and their fear of it makes them, in spite of all their supernaturalness, human and credible.

But it’s not only TV fans who are thrilled by the captivating superheroes epic. Die-hard comic lovers are also richly bestowed. Week by week the official HEROES website features new comic adventures of their heroes for them to read. New characters are often introduced here first, and subplots and sidetracks are created to add to or explain the stories of the television series.

HEROES was sold to numerous countries including e.g. Hong Kong, France, Australia, Italy, the Netherlands, Great Britain and Germany. The series has earned several nominations including some for the coveted Emmy TV award, the Golden Globe Awards and the People’s Choice Award. A computer game is also in the making. The Cologne Conference not only pays tribute to the series in this year’s Night of Cult Television, which marks its German premiere, but also features it in the festival’s TOPTEN section.

Kultnacht (2007)

HEROES | TV-Serie | USA 2006

HEROES


Samstag, 27. September, 22:00 Uhr,
in Kooperation mit RTL II


Save the Cheerleader, save the World!

Als der US Sender NBC im Juni 2006 zur Uraufführung der neuen Superhelden-Serie auf der »Comicon« einlud, rechneten weder die Veranstalter der renommierten internationalen Comic Messe, noch Serien-Erfinder Tim Kring damit, dass der reservierte 2.000 Plätze Saal nicht ausreichen würde. Doch HEROES war Kult, bevor irgendjemand einen Trailer gesehen hatte und der Saal platzte aus allen Nähten.

Am 25. September 2006 um 20:00 Uhr ging HEROES erstmals bei NBC auf Sendung. Die Serie vereinte Alles was seinerzeit im Fernsehen nicht so recht funktionierten wollte: eine zusammenhängende Handlung über 23 Episoden, ein riesiges Ensemble. Trotzdem schauten mehr als 14 Million Menschen zu. HEROES war der erfolgreichste Neustart der Fallseason 2006.

Die Beschreibung liest sich wie eine Science Fiction Geschichte: Rund um den Globus bemerken Menschen Veränderungen an sich. Eine Cheerleaderin ist unsterblich, ein Krankenpfleger kann fliegen, ein junger Japaner kann Raum und Zeit überbrücken, eine Stripperin entwickelt unglaubliche Kräfte, ein Streifenpolizist kann Gedanken anderer hören, ein Junkie kann die Zukunft malen. Und am Ende geht es um nichts Geringeres als die Rettung der Menschheit. HEROES ist aber mehr als das. Die mutige Kombination aus Drama, Komödie, Tragödie, Krimi, Splatter und Science Fiction, wird von den komischen, bösen oder netten Charakteren getragen. Ihre Entwicklung vom Normalen zum Übernatürlichen und ihre Angst davor macht sie, aller Übernatürlichkeit zum Trotz, menschlich und glaubwürdig.

Das spannende Superhelden-Epos begeistert aber nicht nur TV-Fans. Auch eingefleischte Comic-Liebhaber kommen auf ihre Kosten. Auf der offiziellen Webseite von HEROES, können die Fans wöchentlich neue Abenteuer ihrer Helden in Comics lesen. Neue Charaktere werden hier oft zuerst eingeführt und Nebenstränge konstruiert, die Geschichten der Fernsehserie ergänzen oder erklären.

HEROES wurde in zahlreiche Länder verkauft, unter anderem Hong Kong, Frankreich, Australien, Italien, die Niederlande, Großbritannien und Deutschland. Unter anderem wurde Heroes für den begehrten TV-Award Emmy, sowie bei den Golden Globe Awards und dem People’s Choice Award nominiert. Ein Computerspiel ist zudem in Planung. Die Cologne Conference ehrt die Serie nicht nur in der diesjährigen Kultnacht als Deutschlandpremiere, sie ist auch in der Festivalreihe Top Ten vertreten.