Preisverleihungen

As the culmination of the festival, the Cologne Conference celebrates the Award Ceremonies. On this occasion, the Film Award Cologne, the TV Spielfilm Award, the German Casting Award, and the Hollywood Reporter Award will be given out.

This year’s Film Award Cologne, which carries a prize of 25,000 EUR, is bestowed on Roman Polanski. Born in Paris in 1933, the Polish director of films like CHINATOWN, THE FEARLESS VAMPIRE KILLERS, ROSEMARY’S BABY, or THE PIANIST is considered one of the most renowned filmmakers in world cinema.

The TV Spielfilm Award recognizes the best fictional entry in the festival sections TopTen, Look, and Independent. Carrying a prize of 10,000 EUR, this year’s award goes to the film Above Suspicion by Lynda La Plante.

The German Casting Award is given out for the second time at the Cologne Conference in cooperation with production companies 20:15 Film- und Fernsehproduktion, Colonia Media, Bavaria Film, Westside Filmproduktion, and Made in Munich. Along with a 10,000 EUR prize, Nina Haun will receive this distinction this year. The Casting Director for teamWORX and UFA is responsible for casting a wealth of films for television as well as for theatrical release, with some award winning productions among them, including e.g. SUMMER ’04 by Stefan Krohmer, DRESDEN by Roland Suso Richter, DIE FLUCHT (MARCH OF MILLIONS) by Kai Wessel, and FOUR MINUTES by Chris Kraus.

This year also marks the second time the Hollywood Reporter Award (10,000 EUR) is bestowed as part of the Cologne Conference. The prize recognizes a young, ambitious producer who has already garnered the attention of an international audience. The Award is sponsored by the US firm, The Nielsen Company. The Hollywood Reporter Award 2009 honors producers Max Wiedemann (b. 1977) and Quirin Berg (b. 1979), whose record includes e.g. the Oscar-winning feature film THE LIVES OF OTHERS (2006).

Preisverleihungen (2009)

Den festlichen Höhepunkt der Cologne Conference bilden die Preisverleihungen . Vergeben werden der Filmpreis Köln, der TV Spielfilm-Preis, der Deutsche Casting-Preis und der Hollywood Reporter Award.

Der mit 25.000 Euro dotierte Filmpreis Köln geht in diesem Jahr an Roman Polanski. Der 1933 in Paris geborene polnische Regisseur gilt mit Filmen wie CHINATOWN, TANZ DER VAMPIRE, ROSEMARIES BABY oder DER PIANIST als einer der renommiertesten Filmemacher des Weltkinos.

Mit dem TV Spielfilm-Preis wird der beste fiktionale Beitrag aus den Festivalreihen TopTen, Look und Independent ausgezeichnet. Der mit 10.000 Euro dotierte Preis geht in diesem Jahr an den Film Above Suspicion von Lynda La Plante.

Der Deutsche Casting-Preis wird bei der Cologne Conference zum zweiten Mal gemeinsam mit den Produktionsfirmen 20:15 Film- und Fernsehproduktion, Colonia Media, Bavaria Film, Westside Filmproduktion und Made in Munich verliehen. Die mit 10.000 Euro verbundene Auszeichnung erhält in diesem Jahr Nina Haun. Die Casting-Direktorin von teamWORX und UFA ist für die Besetzung zahlreicher, zum Teil preisgekrönter Fernseh- und Kinofilme verantwortlich, darunter SOMMER 04 von Stefan Krohmer, DRESDEN von Roland Suso Richter, DIE FLUCHT von Kai Wessel und VIER MINUTEN von Chris Kraus.

Der Hollywood Reporter Award (10.000 Euro) wird ebenfalls zum zweiten Mal im Rahmen der Cologne Conference vergeben. Der Preis zeichnet eine junge, aufstrebende Produzenten-Persönlichkeit aus, die bereits ein internationales Publikum auf sich aufmerksam gemacht hat. Der Stifter des Preises ist das US-Unternehmen The Nielsen Company. Mit dem Hollywood Reporter Award 2009 werden Max Wiedemann (Jg. 1977) und Quirin Berg (Jg. 1979) geehrt, die u.a. den Oscar-gekrönten Spielfilm DAS LEBEN DER ANDEREN (2006) produzierten.