Annual Symposium on Media Evolution: Future Biases

Wednesday, October 2, 10.00–18.00 hrs


In cooperation with the Institute for Media and Communications Policy, the Zentrale Intelligenz Agentur, and the Deutsche Telekom’s Shareground, with support from the city of Cologne.


The development, interdependence and ever-increasing complexity of media and technologies has reached such a level that one comparison seems inevitable: natural evolution. New technologies emerge from old ones, computer chips auto-design the next generation of computer chips, and self-replicating robots won’t be science-fiction much longer. On top of that, neuroscience, bioinformatics, and genetic engineering erase the boundaries between the animate and the inanimate world, merging nature and technology in ways never seen before.

Describing technology in evolutionary terms as an ecosystem is more than just a metaphor. Kevin Kelly outlined the contours of this global super-organism, its life-cycles, its growth and its boundaries. The symposium discusses the consequences for us humans living alongside and within this technological organism and the ways we think about its possible and impossible futures.

The focus of Cologne Conference Futures this year is FUTURE BIASES, exploring the scope and validity of prognostics in the field of emerging technologies. Can we know in which direction this weird creature technology will be heading and how it will interact with humans? Is the singularity inevitable? Or are all predictions doomed to fail in light of increasing complexity, uncertainties and »black swans«? What are the blind spots in the forecast of future media and tech developments?

10.00 hrs, Opening/Introduction
Lutz Hachmeister, IfM
Holm Friebe, ZIA
Birgit Klesper, Deutsche Telekom

11.00-12.30 hrs
What Technology Wants
Kevin Kelly

  1. 30-13.30 hrs, Lunch

13.30-15.00 hrs
Turning Future Babble Into Real Foresight
Dan Gardner

15.00-15.30 hrs, Coffee Break

15.30-17.00 hrs
I Can’t Believe It’s Not the Future – Technodreams and Technopanics
Kathrin Passig

17.00 hrs, Closing Remarks

Annual Symposium on Media Evolution: Future Biases

Mittwoch, 2. Oktober, 10.00-18.00 Uhr


In Kooperation mit dem Institut für Medien- und Kommunikationspolitik, der Zentralen Intelligenz Agentur und dem Deutsche Telekom Shareground, mit Unterstützung der Stadt Köln.


Wandel, Vernetzungsgrad und Komplexitätssteigerung von Medien und Technologien haben mittlerweile ein Level erreicht, dass sich ein Vergleich geradezu aufdrängt: Die natürliche Evolution. Neue Technologien entstehen aus älteren, Computerchips designen die Computerchips der nächsten Generation und sich selbst replizierende Roboter sind in greifbare Nähe gerückt. Hinzu kommt: Neurowissenschaften, Bioinformatik und Gentechnologie reißen die Grenzen zwischen dem Belebten und dem Unbelebten ein und verschalten Technik und Natur auf völlige neue Weise.

Technologie in den Begriffen der Evolutionstheorie als Ökosystem zu beschreiben, ist mehr als nur eine Metapher. Kevin Kelly hat die Konturen dieses globalen Super-Organismus beschrieben, seine Lebenszyklen, sein Wachstum und seine Grenzen. Das Symposium diskutiert, welche Konsequenzen es für uns Menschen hat, mit und in diesem technologischen Organismus zu leben, und wie wir seine denkbaren und undenkbaren Zukünfte reflektieren.

Die diesjährige Cologne Conference Futures widmet sich dem Schwerpunkt FUTURE BIASES und lotet die Reichweite und Validität von Vorhersagen im Feld der Technik-Prognostik aus. Können wir absehen, in welche Richtung sich dieses seltsame Wesen Technologie entwickelt und wie es sich zu uns Menschen verhalten wird? Ist die Singularität unausweichlich? Oder sind alle Prophezeiungen angesichts zunehmender Komplexität, Unsicherheiten und »schwarzen Schwänen« zum Scheitern verurteilt? Wo liegen die blinden Flecken in der Vorhersage zukünftiger medialer und technologischer Entwicklungen?

10.00-11.00 Uhr, Eröffnung/Einleitung
Lutz Hachmeister, IfM
Holm Friebe, ZIA
Birgit Klesper, Deutsche Telekom

11.00-12.30 Uhr
What Technology Wants
Kevin Kelly

  1. 30-13.30 Uhr, Mittagessen

13.30-15.00 Uhr
Turning Future Babble Into Real Foresight
Dan Gardner

15.00-15.30 Uhr, Kaffeepause

15.30-17.00 Uhr
I Can’t Believe It’s Not the Future – Technodreams and Technopanics
Kathrin Passig

17.00 Uhr, Schlussworte