Award Ceremony

Endowed by the Film- und Medienstiftung NRW and the City of Cologne, the Film Award Cologne, worth 25,000 EUR, was presented to Lars von Trier. Always breaking with aesthetic and narrative conventions, the Danish filmmaker’s work constitute milestones in European film history. For the first time in three years Lars von Trier has spoken in public during the award ceremony on October 10th 2014 in Cologne and said: »I have not spoken in public for three years, so I prepared a few words: Thank you very much.«

The TV Spielfilm Award recognizes the best program in the Top Ten, Look, and Kino sections of the festival. This year’s award, which carries a prize of 10,000 Euro, went to French Director Bertrand Tavernier for QUAI D’ORSAY, a poignant political satire presented in the Kino section of the Cologne Conference.

The Hollywood Reporter Award for outstanding achievements in the international film and media business is endowed with 10.000 Euro and in this year went to Tom Tykwer. Ever since his international breakthrough, RUN LOLA RUN, the renowned director has been continuously involved in highly ambitious film projects. He is currently working on the TV crime series, BERLIN BABYLON.

This year’s recipient of the international actors award.cologne that annually honours outstanding actors and is endowed with more than 10.000 Euros, was Martina Gedeck. She can be seen on TV and on the silver screen, in exceptional German productions as well as in international ones. The international actors award.cologne is donated by .cologne here I am (Köln Plus Partner e.V.).

Preisverleihungen

Mit dem von der Film- und Medienstiftung NRW und der Stadt Köln gestifteten und mit 25.000 Euro dotierten Filmpreis Köln wurde in diesem Jahr Lars von Trier geehrt. Der dänische Filmemacher hat mit seinen Werken stets ästhetische und erzählerische Konventionen brechende Meilensteile in der europäischen Filmgeschichte gesetzt. Erstmals seit drei Jahren sprach Lars von Trier bei den Preisverleihungen am 10. Oktober 2014 in der Öffentlichkeit und bedankte sich mit den Worten: »I have not spoken in public for three years, so I prepared a few words: Thank you very much«.

Mit dem TV Spielfilm-Preis wurde der beste Beitrag der Festivalreihen Top Ten, Look und Kino ausgezeichnet. In diesem Jahr erhält der französische Regisseur Bertrand Tavernier die mit 10.000 Euro verbundene Auszeichnung für seine scharfzüngige Politkomödie QUAI D’ORSAY, die im Rahmen der Kino-Reihe präsentiert wurde.

Den mit 10.000 Euro dotierten Hollywood Reporter Award für herausragende Leistungen in der internationalen Film- und Fernsehbranche erhielt in diesem Jahr Tom Tykwer. Der renommierte Regisseur setzt seit seinem internationalen Durchbruch mit LOLA RENNT fortlaufend hochklassige Filmprojekte um. Momentan arbeitet er für Netflix an der Serie SENSE 8.

Martina Gedeck erhielt in diesem Jahr den mit über 10.000 Euro dotierten international actors award.cologne, der jährlich überragende schauspielerische Leistungen auszeichnet. Sie arbeitet  im Fernsehen ebenso wie im Kino und in deutschen als auch in internationalen hochkarätigen Produktionen. Der international actors award.cologne wird von .cologne here I am (Köln Plus Partner e.V.) gestiftet.