Film Award NRW for Best Documentary

Family Business

FAMILY BUSINESS


FAMILY BUSINESS, produced by Tobias Büchner, wins the first Film Award NRW for Best Documentary Feature, which is endowed with € 10,000. The Award honors producers whose works were created with significant involvement of NRW. Likewise, this new award is endowed by the State of North Rhine-Westphalia, the City of Cologne and the Film- und Medienstiftung NRW.


Director: Christiane Büchner
Production: Tobias Büchner, Büchner Filmproduktion

Jury’s Statement:

The average age in Germany is on the rise. At the same time traditional family ties are eroding and the demands of the modern workplace are ever increasing. So when a family member is in need of care, that’s going to be a problem – one that is increasingly dealt with by hiring foreign nursing staff.

In her film FAMILY BUSINESS Christiane Büchner shows how this ubiquitous exchange of human devotion for payment works – from both perspectives. She accompanies Polish nurse Roswita, who leaves her husband and daughter in their half-finished house for the far away town of Bochum in order to care for 88-year-old recent widow Anne, whose two daughters have their hands full with their work and their own families. The rapprochement of these two women isn’t easy: Roswita knows only a few words of German, and you can feel Anne’s discomfort at having to suddenly share her home with a complete stranger. Even though both sides have nothing but best intentions, the relationship will remain strained and distant.

FAMILY BUSINESS never looks for the simple thesis, raises no accusation, and offers no easy solutions. Instead director Büchner patiently observes and presents all the ambivalence and complexity of a situation which is part of our everyday lives and still gets not nearly enough attention. The result is a deeply humanist film with a form that very much follows its function and, as the best documentaries always do, can tell us a lot about our present day.


The nominees for the International Film Awards NRW in the category »Best Documentary Feature« were:

_ Family Business
Director: Christiane Büchner
Production: Tobias Büchner, Büchner.Filmproduktion

_ Herr von Bohlen
Director: André Schäfer
Production: Marianne Schäfer, Florianfilm

_ Sonita
Director: Rokshareh Ghaem Maghami
Production: Gerd Haag, Tag/Traum Filmproduktion

Filmpreis NRW für den Besten Dokumentarfilm

Family Business

Der Filmpreis NRW für den Besten Dokumentarfilm, welcher 2016 erstmals vergeben wird, geht an FAMILY BUSINESS, einen Dokumentarfilm des Produzenten Tobias Büchner. Die mit 10.000 Euro dotierte Auszeichnung ehrt Produzenten, deren Werke mit maßgeblicher Beteiligung von NRW entstanden sind. Träger des Preises sind das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen, die Stadt Köln und die Film- und Medienstiftung NRW.


Regie: Christiane Büchner
Produktion: Tobias Büchner, Büchner Filmproduktion

Jurybegründung:

Das Durchschnittsalter der Deutschen steigt. Zugleich schwinden traditionelle Familienbindungen und steigen die Ansprüche der modernen Arbeitswelt. Wird ein Familienmitglied pflegebedürftig, wird das zum Problem – ein Problem, das zunehmend ausgelagert wird an ausländische Pflegekräfte.

Christiane Büchner zeigt in FAMILY BUSINESS den Alltag dieses Austauschs von menschlicher Zuwendung gegen Bezahlung – aus beiden Perspektiven. Sie begleitet die Polin Roswita, die ihren Mann und ihre Tochter in ihrem erst halb fertiggestellten Haus verlässt, um im fernen Bochum die kürzlich verwitwete 88-Jährige Anne zu pflegen, deren beide Töchter mit ihrer Arbeit und den eigenen Familien ausgelastet sind. Die Annäherung der beiden ist schwierig: Roswita kann nur wenige Bruchstücke Deutsch und Anne merkt man an, dass sie sich unwohl fühlt, plötzlich mit einer völlig Fremden zusammenzuleben. Auch wenn alle das Beste wollen, wird das Verhältnis distanziert bleiben.

FAMILY BUSINESS sucht nie die griffige These, klagt nicht an, bietet keine Lösungen, stattdessen fächert Regisseurin Büchner geduldig beobachtend die Ambivalenzen und Komplexität einer Situation auf, die Alltag ist in unserer Gesellschaft, aber zu wenig Öffentlichkeit bekommt. Entstanden ist ein zutiefst humanistischer Film, der seine Form ganz in den Dienst des Inhalts stellt und in bester Dokumentarfilmtradition viel über unsere Gegenwart erzählt.


Nominiert für den Filmpreis NRW in der Kategorie »Bester Dokumentarfilm« waren:

_ Family Business
Regie: Christiane Büchner
Produktion: Tobias Büchner, Büchner.Filmproduktion

_ Herr von Bohlen
Regie: André Schäfer
Produktion: Marianne Schäfer, Florianfilm

_ Sonita
Regie: Rokshareh Ghaem Maghami
Produktion: Gerd Haag, Tag/Traum Filmproduktion