Virtual Reality Lounge

Saturday, 8th to Monday, 10th October, 3 p.m. to 22 p.m. | Filmhauskino

The current hype about virtual reality is not a new phenomenon. Back in the 1990s, VR technology was already much talked about, but never arrived on the mass market. A lot has come to pass since then: innovative ideas are now enabling new ways to use the technology and are spawning special forms of narration. With broadcasters providing VR offerings to skillfully extend their content, media categories are dissolving in a way that used to be unthinkable. Game developers, start-ups, museums, universities, and opera houses explore the opportunities afforded by digital VR headsets and create novel, immersive user experiences. The Virtual Reality Lounge provides an overview of the diverse content that will change our media consumption habits.

These projects were presented at the Virtual Reality Lounge:

NIGHT FALL

The world’s first ballet specially designed for VR, produced by &samhoud Media and the Het Nationale Ballet, featuring choreography by Peter Leung. Directed by Jip Samhoud and Marijn Korver. The solo dancers in this ballet, which was inspired by the world-renowned white sequences of Swan Lake and La Bayadère, are the enchanting Anna Tsygankova and Artur Shesterikov. After its world premiere in Amsterdam the film was hailed as »a miracle of classical art and modern technology« (NRC Handelsblad).

IN YOUR FACE

Europe’s first VR feature film, produced by &samhoud Media and starring two top Dutch actors as a couple getting an unexpected visit from a reality TV film crew. They’re asked to put up a refugee in their posh, upper-class flat and thus become an active part in the refugee narrative. The audience can see up close how the couple deals with this experience. You can’t look away if you really want to be part of the discussion.

TANKSTELLEN DES GLÜCKS (Gas Stations of Happiness)

Put on your glasses and let’s go! The user mounts the golden old-timer car of  Friedrich Liechtenstein, sits down in the leather passenger seat and starts a virtual joyride through the capitol that has a true spectacle in store at the side of the road. The VR music video »1000 Liter« wants to be discovered and experienced.

WIGALD & FRITZ

The 360° video, produced by HISTORY Deutschland, shows Wigald Boning in an isolation cell in the former Stasi prison in Berlin-Höhenschönhausen. Find out how it must have felt to be incarcerated there and watch the complete episode of  WIGALD & FRITZ – DIE GESCHICHTSJÄGER (History Hunters) on October 11th in the Astor Film Lounge at the Film Festival Cologne 2016, and in December on the HISTORY channel.

Virtual Reality Lounge

Samstag, 8. bis Montag, 10. Oktober 2016, jeweils 15-22 Uhr | Filmhauskino

Der aktuelle Hype um Virtual Reality ist nicht neu. Bereits in den 1990ern Jahren war die Technologie ein vieldiskutiertes Thema, erreichte aber nie den Massenmarkt. Seitdem hat sich viel getan – innovative Ideen eröffnen neue Nutzungsmöglichkeiten und besondere Erzählformen. TV-Sender verlängern ihre Inhalte mittlerweile geschickt mit VR-Angeboten und überschreiten dabei Gattungsgrenzen, die zuvor nicht denkbar gewesen wären. Spieleentwickler, Startups, Museen, Hochschulen oder Opernhäuser erkunden Möglichkeiten, die durch die digitale Brillentechnologie entstehen und bieten dem Rezipienten eine neue, immersive Erlebniswelt. DieVirtual Reality Lounge bietet einen abwechslungsreichen Überblick über die Inhalte, die zukünftig unsere Seh- und Nutzungsgewohnheiten verändern werden.

Folgende Projekte wurden in der Virtual Reality Lounge vorgestellt:

NIGHT FALL

Das weltweit erste Spezial für VR angefertigtes Ballett, produziert von &samhoud Media und Het Nationale Ballet, zeigt die Choreografie von Peter Leung. Regie geführt wurde von Jip Samhoud und Marijn Korver. Die zauberhafte Anna Tsygankova und Artur Shesterikov sind die Solisten in diesem Ballett, welches von den weltberühmten weißen Akten aus DIE SCHWANENSEE und LA BAYADÈRE inspiriert wurde. Der Film wurde nach der Erstaufführung in Amsterdam u.a. gelobt als »ein Wunder von klassischer Kunst und moderner Technologie« (NRC Handelsblad).

IN YOUR FACE

Europa’s erster VR Spielfilm, produziert von &samhoud Media ist mit zwei niederländischen Topschauspielern besetzt, die in dem Film ein Paar spielen, das plötzlich Besuch von einem Reality-TV- Filmteam bekommt. Sie werden gebeten in ihre schicke Wohnung einen Flüchtling aufzunehmen und werden somit aktiver Teil der Flüchtlingsthematik. Der Zuschauer kann hautnah miterleben wie das Paar mit der Erfahrung umgeht. Weggucken kann man jetzt nicht mehr als Zuschauer, da man wirklich Teil der Diskussion wird.

TANKSTELLEN DES GLÜCKS

Brille auf und ab geht’s! Der User steigt in den goldenen Oldtimer von Friedrich Liechtenstein, macht es sich auf dem ledernen Beifahrersitz bequem und startet eine virtuelle Spritztour durch die Hauptstadt, die ein wahres Spektakel am Wegesrand bereit hält. Das VR-Musikvideo 1000 LITER zum Miterleben und Entdecken!

WIGALD & FRITZ

Dieses 360-Grad Video, produziert von HISTORY Deutschland, zeigt Wigald Boning in einer Einzelzelle im ehemaligen Stasigefängnis Hohenschönhausen. Finden Sie heraus, wie man sich als Inhaftierter in Hohenschönhausen gefühlt haben muss, und sehen Sie die komplette Folge von WIGALD & FRITZ – DIE GESCHICHTSJÄGER am 11. Oktober in der Residenz – Astor Film Lounge, im Rahmen des Film Festival Cologne 2016, und im Dezember auf HISTORY