The New TV Market

Cologne Conference Lectures

  • Monday, 22. May 2006 15:00 hrs

Monday, May 22, 15:00 – 18:00 hrs, 
In Cooperation with BBC Worldwide Ltd.


Presentation: Torsten Zarges, kress report, Cologne


15:00 hrs – 16:00 hrs | Studio der SK Stiftung Kultur | Lecture

TV to Go: Revolution on the Small Screen
While the classical TV genres are in constant turmoil, an even greater change is occurring on the small screen: the mobile phones. With series like 24 being adapted for handhelds, the launch of the video iPod and the creation of genuine forms of mobile content, production for this new medium could take off very soon. The keynote describes the opportunities and challenges content producers and distributors will face when working with the new medium.

Dr. Ingo Schneider, Vice President Mobile Data, T-Mobile International, Bonn


16:00 hrs – 16:45 hrs | Studio der SK Stiftung Kultur | Lecture

Beyond Blogs: User Created Content, Options for TV Producers
Blogs were the first challenge to the media monopoly of public expression. Now the web has moved on, genuine networks are evolving where the content is entirely supplied by its users. Since these offers are no longer limited to mere text, professional producers should take interest in these new powerful forums. Brian Seth Hurst will give an overview and will also reflect on the potentials for producers arising from these developments.

Brian Seth Hurst, CEO, The Opportunity Management Company, Los Angeles


16:45 hrs – 17:00 hrs | Studio der SK Stiftung Kultur

Coffee Break


17:00 hrs – 18:00 hrs | Studio der SK Stiftung Kultur | Lecture

Building Public Value in and through New Media
The BBC is righteously seen as a leading provider of new media appliances. From internet publishing over digital and interactive television to new distribution strategies, the company explores what it means to be a broadcaster in the 21st century. Marc Goodchild, producer of the award-winning interactive documentary WALKING WITH BEASTS and executive producer of the BBC’s parenting VoD-Service, will explain how television can transcend current technological and aesthetic borders and how the new opportunities arising can be seized.

Marc Goodchild, Executive Producer for Interactive TV, BBC Factual and Learning, London

In Kooperation mit BBC Worldwide Ltd.

Der neue Markt des Fernsehens

Cologne Conference Lectures

  • Montag, 22. Mai 2006 15:00 Uhr

Montag, 22. Mai, 15:00 – 18:00 Uhr, 
In Kooperation mit BBC Worldwide Ltd.


Moderation: Torsten Zarges, kress report, Köln


15:00 Uhr – 16:00 Uhr | Studio der SK Stiftung Kultur | Lecture

TV to Go: inhaltliche Herausforderungen fürs Mobile
Sind schon die klassischen TV-Genres von einer starken Dynamik geprägt, so ist die Entwicklung im Bereich Mobilfunk noch tiefgreifender. Mit der Adaption erfolgreicher Serien wie 24 für Handhelds, dem Erfolg des Video-iPods und der zunehmend maßgeschneiderten Produktion von »Mobile Content« hat die Inhalte-Entwicklung für das neue Medium deutlich an Fahrt aufgenommen. Die Keynote entwickelt Perspektiven, die sich für Programmanbieter und -produzenten im Umgang mit Mobile TV ergeben.

Dr. Ingo Schneider, Vice President Mobile Data, T-Mobile International, Bonn


16:00 Uhr – 16:45 Uhr | Studio der SK Stiftung Kultur | Lecture

Beyond Blogs: nutzergenerierte Inhalte – Chancen für TV-Anbieter
Blogs haben das etablierte Medienmonopol erstmals in Frage gestellt. Mit der Weiterentwicklung des Internets gewinnen nun spezielle Netzwerke an Bedeutung, in denen die Inhalte vollständig von den Mitgliedern erstellt werden. Da diese Angebote nicht mehr auf reine Texte beschränkt sind, sind auch TV-Anbieter gefordert, sich Zugang zu diesen einflussreichen Foren zu verschaffen. Brian Seth Hurst gibt einen Ausblick auf die kommende Entwicklung und die Chancen für Programmanbieter.

Brian Seth Hurst, CEO, The Opportunity Management Company, Los Angeles


16:45 Uhr – 17:00 Uhr | Studio der SK Stiftung Kultur

Kaffeepause


17:00 Uhr – 18:00 Uhr | Studio der SK Stiftung Kultur | Lecture

Öffentliche Werte schaffen mit und in neuen Medien
Die BBC gilt weithin als der führende Anbieter innovativer Medienanwendungen. Von Internet Publishing über digitales und interaktives Fernsehen bis hin zu neuen Distributionsstrategien erforscht die BBC unermüdlich, was es heißt, ein Rundfunkunternehmen im 21. Jahrhundert zu sein. Marc Goodchild, der die interaktive BBC-Doku WALKING WITH BEASTS produzierte und jetzt den Parenting VoD-Service der BBC leitet, zeigt, wie Fernsehen technologische und ästhetische Grenzen überwinden kann und welche Chancen sich aus dieser Entwicklung ergeben.

Marc Goodchild, Executive Producer for Interactive TV, BBC Factual and Learning, London

In Kooperation mit BBC Worldwide Ltd.