Roman Polanski

Roman Polanski has always spoken out against attempts to draw too close a connection between his life and work, maybe because there is hardly any other director for whom that link seems so likely. The pessimistic view of the world in many of his films, the harrowing atrocities therein, the sense of the absurdity of human existence: all of that falls too well in line with a biography decisively shaped by experiences of wanton violence.
Born in 1933, Polanski is a survivor. He barely escaped Krakow’s Jewish Ghetto in 1943. He spent the last war years in hiding with a Catholic family. His parents were hauled off to concentration camps; his mother was murdered in Auschwitz. Shortly after the war, as a 15-year-old, he suffered a severe head injury at the hands of a teenage serial killer. Again, it was only by a hair’s breadth that Polanski got away alive. In August 1969, a few days before his 36th birthday, Charles Manson’s gang bestially murdered his highly pregnant wife Sharon Tate in Los Angeles. Polanski had been traveling in Europe at the time.

The first film he shot after this most severe blow of fate was an adaptation of Shakespeare’s MACBETH (1971) that was drenched in blood. However, he did not want this film to be seen as a cathartic device to overcome his trauma, as he was, in fact, more interested in the challenge of bringing Shakespeare to the screen. As a director, Polanski may have been shaped by a period of »New Waves« in Eastern und Western Europe that put the film auteur front and center, one who drew on his or her own life for artistic creations – still, Polanski is just as much a craftsman in the classic sense, one who always tries to get the best out of a given task.
Roman Polanski is a brilliant master who impresses those who work with him with his encyclopedic knowledge of filmmaking; a perfectionist who likes to shoot long, uninterrupted takes, which are challenging for everyone on set; a universalist who has tried his hand in almost all the genres: from period drama, to psychological horror, to slapstick comedy.

The fact that Polanski is as much an artist as he is an artisan may well also be the reason why he is one in a very small group of directors whose work is held in high esteem in both Europe and America. Few other filmmakers of the past and present have been given more renowned awards on both continents: he received a Golden Bear for CUL-DE-SAC in Berlin in 1966, won a lifetime achievement Golden Lion in Venice in 1993, and a Golden Palm in Cannes for THE PIANIST in 2002; in the USA, he was awarded a Golden Globe for CHINATOWN in 1974, and won an Oscar for THE PIANIST in 2003, following four previous nominations.

From early on, it was apparent that Polanski was to make his own way as a filmmaker. A number of short films he made as a student at the renowned Lodz Film School immediately garnered international acclaim. His first full-length feature, KNIFE IN THE WATER (1962), was something of a sensation in his native country, Poland. The film was notable for two altogether different aspects: first, Polanski picked a sailboat as his set, which would have posed a challenge even for far more experienced directors; moreover, his film was also a political offense, precisely because it was largely unpolitical. The communist censors did not like KNIFE IN THE WATER, because the subtle thriller lacked a message that was suitably supportive of the state.

The success of his debut feature enabled Polanski to make the leap to the West. He shot REPULSION (1965) in London with young Cathérine Deneuve. This film, too, is mostly bound to the narrow confines of one location: a small apartment in London, where Deneuve’s character, a beauty specialist, is slowly drifting off into madness. His first film shot in the USA, ROSEMARY’S BABY (1968), immediately became a great success with both the audience and critics. In this case, it is Mia Farrow who is in danger of losing her mind in a creepy apartment – this time, though, for good reason. Polanski’s greatest triumph during his time in the United States was the neo noir CHINATOWN (1974). He turned a masterpiece into a classic by replacing the happy ending in the script with a bleak conclusion.

The director fled the USA in 1978, since he was threatened with a jail term due to his affair with model Samantha Gailey, who was a minor at the time. The details of the case remain as yet unclear. After the documentary, ROMAN POLANSKI: WANTED AND DESIRED, raised serious charges last year against the original judge in the case, Polanski made a motion for new trial – but to no avail. Samantha Gailey herself had already publicly forgiven him in 1997.

Lone individuals left at the hands of evil powers remain a major theme in Polanski’s work after his return to Europe in the late 1970s. His book adaptations, TESS (1979), THE PIANIST (2002), and OLIVER TWIST (2005), all revolve around innocent people who have to fend off discrimination by society and by institutions. For THE PIANIST, Polanski, who was living in France by then, returned to Poland for the first time in 40 years for a film shooting. THE PIANIST, which is probably his most personal film, was created based on the memoirs of the Jewish pianist Wladyslaw Szpilman, a lucky survivor of Nazi-occupied Warsaw.

After OLIVER TWIST, Polanski was supposed to direct the monumental film epic, POMPEJI – it would have been his biggest project to date. However, preparations were halted at the end of 2007, in part due to problems with the film locations and the screenplay. Polanski is currently working in the editing room on his 18th feature film, GHOST, an adaptation of the best-selling book of the same name by Robert Harris (FATHERLAND). In this picture, Ewan McGregor plays a ghostwriter who puts himself in mortal danger when he accepts the job of writing the memoirs of a former British Prime Minister. Now in his mid-seventies, Roman Polanski thus takes on a new genre once again: the political thriller. GHOST is scheduled for cinematic release in Germany in February 2010.

Roman Polanski

Der 1933 geborene Polanski ist ein Überlebender. Dem jüdischen Ghetto von Krakau entkam er 1943 nur knapp. Er verbrachte die letzten Kriegsjahre versteckt bei einer katholischen Familie. Seine Eltern wurden in Konzentrationslager verschleppt, die Mutter in Auschwitz ermordet. Kurz nach dem Krieg fügte dem 15-Jährigen ein jugendlicher Serienmörder eine schwere Kopfverletzung zu, erneut entkam Polanski haarscharf mit dem Leben. Im August 1969, wenige Tage vor seinem 36. Geburtstag, wurde seine hochschwangere Frau Sharon Tate in Los Angeles von Charles Mansons Gang auf bestialische Weise getötet. Polanski war zu dem Zeitpunkt gerade in Europa unterwegs.

Der erste Film, den er nach diesem schwersten Schicksalsschlag drehte, war eine bluttriefende Adaption von Shakespeares MACBETH (1971). Doch als kathartische Überwindung des eigenen Traumas wollte er den Film nicht verstanden wissen, ihn interessierte vielmehr die Herausforderung, Shakespeare auf die Leinwand zu bringen. Als Regisseur mag Polanski in einer Zeit geprägt worden sein, als in Ost- und Westeuropa die »Neuen Wellen« den Film-Auteur in den Vordergrund rückten, der aus seinem Leben Kunst schöpft – Polanski ist aber ebenso im klassischen Sinne Handwerker, dem es darum geht, immer das Beste aus der gegebenen Aufgabe herauszuholen.
Roman Polanski ist ein brillanter Könner, der seine Mitarbeiter mit seinem enzyklopädischen Wissen über das Filmemachen beeindruckt; ein Perfektionist, der gerne in langen, ununterbrochenen Einstellungen dreht und damit alle am Set herausfordert; ein Universalist, der sich schon in fast allen Genres probiert hat: vom historischen Drama über psychologischen Horror bis hin zur klamaukigen Komödie.

Die Tatsache, dass Polanski in gleichem Maße Künstler wie Handwerker ist, dürfte auch der Grund dafür sein, dass er zu einer ganz kleinen Gruppe von Regisseuren gehört, deren Werk in Europa wie in Amerika hoch geschätzt wird. Kaum ein anderer lebender oder toter Filmemacher hat auf beiden Kontinenten mehr renommierte Preise verliehen bekommen: In Berlin bekam er 1966 den Goldenen Bären für CUL-DE-SAC (deutscher Titel: WENN KATELBACH KOMMT…), in Venedig 1993 einen Goldenen Löwen für sein Lebenswerk, in Cannes 2002 eine Goldene Palme für DER PIANIST; in den USA erhielt er 1974 einen Golden Globe für CHINATOWN und 2003 – nach zuvor vier Nominierungen – den Oscar für DER PIANIST.
Schon früh zeigte sich, dass Polanski als Filmemacher einen eigenen Weg gehen würde. Als Student an der renommierten Filmschule von Lodz drehte er einige Kurzfilme, die sogleich international ausgezeichnet wurden. Sein erster Spielfilm DAS MESSER IM WASSER (1962) war eine kleine Sensation in seinem Heimatland Polen. Der Film war in doppelter Hinsicht auffalllend: Zum einen suchte sich Polanski ein Segelboot als Drehort aus, was auch für weit erfahrenere Regisseure eine Herausforderung bedeutet hätte, zum anderen eckte er politisch an, gerade weil sein Film weitgehend unpolitisch war. Die kommunistischen Zensoren mochten DAS MESSER IM WASSER nicht, weil der subtile Thriller die staatragende Botschaft vermissen ließ.

Der Erfolg seines Debüt-Spielfilms ermöglichte Polanski den Sprung in den Westen. In London drehte er REPULSION (1965) mit der jungen Cathérine Deneuve. Wieder beschränkt sich der Film weitgehend auf einen begrenzten Handlungsort: Eine kleine Wohnung in London, in der die von Deneuve gespielte Kosmetikerin langsam in den Wahnsinn abgleitet. Mit seinem ersten in den USA gedrehten Film ROSEMARY’S BABY (1968) landete er gleich einen großen Erfolg bei Publikum und Kritikern. Hier ist es Mia Farrow, die in einer unheimlichen Wohnung den Verstand zu verlieren droht – diesmal allerdings mit gutem Grund. Polanskis größter Triumph in seiner Zeit in den USA war der Neo noir CHINATOWN (1974). Er machte dabei aus einem Meisterwerk einen Klassiker, indem er das Happy End des Drehbuchs durch einen düsteren Schluss ersetzte.

Aus den USA floh der Regisseur 1978, weil ihm nach einer Affäre mit dem minderjährigen Model Samantha Gailey Gefängnis drohte. Die Details des Falls sind noch immer nicht geklärt. Nachdem im vergangenen Jahr der Dokumentarfilm ROMAN POLANSKI: WANTED AND DESIRED jedoch den damaligen Richter des Falles schwer belastete, versuchte Polanski eine Neuaufnahme des Verfahrens zu bewirken – allerdings ohne Erfolg. Samantha Gailey selbst hatte ihm bereits 1997 öffentlich verziehen.

Der Einzelne, der zum Spielball böser Mächte wird, ist auch nach Polanskis Rückkehr nach Europa in den späten 70er Jahren ein Hauptmotiv seines Werks. In den Literaturverfilmungen TESS (1979), DER PIANIST (2002) und OLIVER TWIST (2005) geht es stets um Unschuldige, die sich gesellschaftlicher und institutioneller Diskriminierung erwehren müssen. Für DER PIANIST kehrte der in Frankreich lebende Polanski erstmals nach vierzig Jahren zum Drehen nach Polen zurück. Sein wohl persönlichster Film entstand auf Basis der Memoiren des jüdischen Pianisten Wladyslaw Szpilman, der mit Glück im von den Nazis besetzten Warschau überleben konnte.

Nach OLIVER TWIST sollte Polanski Regie bei dem Monumentalfilm POMPEJI führen – es wäre sein bislang größtes Projekt gewesen. Doch Ende 2007 wurden die Vorbereitungen unter anderem wegen Problemen mit den Drehorten und dem Drehbuch gestoppt. Momentan schneidet Polanski an seinem 18. Spielfilm, GHOST, einer Adaption des gleichnamigen Bestsellers von Robert Harris (FATHERLAND). Ewan McGregor spielt darin einen Ghostwriter, der sich in Lebensgefahr begibt, als er den Job annimmt, die Memoiren eines ehemaligen britischen Premierministers zu schreiben. Mit Mitte 70 versucht sich Roman Polanski also erneut an einem neuen Genre: dem Polit-Thriller. Im Februar 2010 soll GHOST in die deutschen Kinos kommen.