Film Award Cologne

The Film Award Cologne, which carries a prize of 25,000 EUR, has been bestowed to the US-American artist and director David Lynch. David Keith Lynch, born in 1946 as a son of an agrarian scientist in Missoula/Montana, achieved world-wide reputation with masterpieces such as BLUE VELVET and LOST HIGHWAY. The mayor of the city of Cologne, Elfi Scho-Antwerpes and Petra Müller, CEO of the Film Foundation NRW, as representatives of the award-sponsors handed over the award.


TV Spielfilm Award

The TV Spielfilm Award, which honours the best entry of the festival sections has been handed on to the renowned American author David Simon by TV Spielfilm chief editor Lutz Carstens for the TopTen-entry TREME. Following THE WIRE David Simon once again creates extraordinary television with the new series. He shows impressively and realistic how passionate the residents of New Orleans three month after hurricane Katrina fight against the downfall of their loved home-city.


The Hollywood Reporter Award

The Hollywood Reporter Award, which honours extraordinary activity in the international film and television industry, this year has been bestowed to the leading actors Elisabeth Moss and Jon Hamm of the successful series MAD MEN. The Series, which takes place in the milieu of an American advertising agency in the 1960ies, is known especially for its precise stylized scenery and the contemporary acting of the headliners. After the laudation by Lutz Hachmeister (founder of the Cologne Conference) the award has been handed over by Tommaso Campione, International Executive Director of the Hollywood Reporter.


German Casting Award

The renowned German Casting Award, which carries a prize of 10,000 EUR, once again was offered by the sponsors Bavaria Film, Colonia Media, FFP New Media, Westside Filmproduktion and Ziegler Film. The prize winner Ulrike Müller has been honoured for her outstanding casting work for the movies PARKOURS, DIE FREMDE, IM SCHATTEN” and UNTER DIR DIE STADT. The last two have been shown on this-years Cologne Conference. The award has been handed over by the director Marc Rensing.