Kaidan Horror Classics: The Whistler – The Days After – The Nose

Mini-Series | JPN 2011 | Subtitled English

  • Tuesday, 27. September 2011 18:30 hrs

An ambitious project spearheaded by Japanese public broadcaster NHK. KAIDAN – HORROR CLASSICS is the work of four acclaimed Japanese directors who were asked to adapt a ghost or horror story by a native author into film. The Cologne Conference presents three of these four episodes, all of which are entirely unrelated to each other. Hirukazu Kore-eda’s (NOBODY KNOWS) THE DAYS AFTER tells the story of a couple who recognize their deceased child in another little boy – or wish to recognize him. Is the six-year-old really a ghost? Based on material by the »father of the Japanese short story« Ryūnosuke Akutagawa, THE NOSE is about a monk who turns into the monster people have always considered him to be anyway due to his ugly cucumber nose. A film by Tsukamato Shinya (TETSUO), THE WHISTLER revolves around a woman consumed by jealousy when she discovers the love letters of her fatally ill sister. All directors do without shock effects or bloodbaths and opt instead for strong drama spiked with supernatural elements.

The Whistler
Shinya Tsukamoto
Adaptation from (book,play)
Based on a story by Osamu Dazai
Principal Cast
Aoba Kawai, Eri Tokunaga, Jun Kunimura
Shinya Tsukamoto, Shinichi Kawahara
Executive Producers
Shuichiro Yamazaki, Takahiro Hamano
The Days After
Hirokazu Kore-eda
Adaptation from (book,play)
Based on a short story by Saisei Muro
Principal Cast
Ryo Kase, Yuri Nakamura
Kiichi Kumagai
Executive Producers
Shuichiro Yamazaki, Takahiro Hamano
The Nose
Sang-il Lee
Adaptation from (book,play)
Based on a short story by Ryunosuke Akutagawa
Main Actor/Cast
Yutaka Matsushige
Kosuke Oshida, Emiko Matsuno
Executive Producers
Shuichiro Yamazaki, Takahiro Hamano

International Sales

NHK Enterprises, Inc.
NR Blog 3F
5-5 Kamiyama-cho, Shibuya-ku
Tokyo 150-0047
Tel.: +81 3 5453 5260

Selected filmography Hirokazu Kore-eda

MABOROSI (1995), AFTER LIFE (1998), NOBODY KNOWS (2004), HANA (2006), STILL WALKING (2008)