TV Spielfilm Award

Margarethe von Trotta

Margarethe von Trotta started as a female pioneer and quickly rose to become the Grand Dame of European political cinema, and the consciousness of a German century. After acting in several Fassbinder films and cooperating with her then-husband Volker Schlöndorff on seminal works like THE LOST HONOR OF KATHARINA BLUM, she became the strong female voice in the boys club that was the New German Cinema of the 70s and 80s. Her decidedly uncompromising depiction of the breaking points of a turbulent German century have won awards at all major festivals. Following the 70s feminist mantra that everything political is always also private and vice versa, her historical narratives are always filtered through the experiences of smart and determined female characters, from intellectual pioneers like HANNAH ARENDT or ROSA LUXEMBURG, to female resistance fighters in Nazi Germany in ROSENSTRASSE, to a 70s female terrorist in MARIANNE AND JULIANE. What is often forgotten in the face of her political analysis is that she is also a warm, intimate, patient and deeply understanding narrator and director, who can coax a sublime performance from her regular actresses like Barbara Sukowa or Katja Riemann each and every time.

Margarethe von Trotta’s new film FORGET ABOUT NICK will be screened at this year’s Film Festival Cologne.

The TV Spielfilm Award is given to one film or series in our programme that featured outstanding visual and narrative quality. The recipient is the producer or director. This award is sponsored by the TV Spielfilm publishing house since 2007 and endowed with 10,000 €.

Laureates of recent years:

2016     Lucie Borleteau for the TV Series CANNABIS
2015     David Schalko for the TV Mini-series ALTES GELD
2014     Bertrand Tavernier for the movie QUAI D’ORSAY
2013     Frauke Finsterwalder & Christian Kracht for the movie FINSTERWORLD
2012     Michael Winterbottom for the movie TRISHNA
2011     Todd Haynes for the TV Mini-series MILDRED PIERCE
2010     David Simon for the TV Series TREME
2009     Lynda La Plante for the movie ABOVE SUSPICION
2008     Abi Morgan and Hettie Macdonald for the TV Movie WHITE GIRL
2007     Anton Corbijn for the movie CONTROL