The Hollywood Reporter Award honors the best fictional contribution in the competition series TOP TEN TV and BEST OF CINEMA FICTION. This year, the prize was awarded to Danish director Thomas Vinterberg for his film ANOTHER ROUND. The prize is endowed with 10,000 euros.


With DAS FEST, the 29-year-old Thomas Vinterberg catapulted himself onto the international stage in 1998: the first film to be shot according to the rules of the Dogma 95 Manifesto not only earned him the Jury Prize in Cannes and a European Film Prize, it also marked the beginning of a career in the course of which he developed into one of the most versatile directors in Europe. As in DAS FEST, the Dane repeatedly deals with the social dynamics in families, circles of friends and tightly-knit communities, whether in DIE JAGD, DIE KOMMUNE, KURSK or in his latest film ANOTHER ROUND.


The winners of the Hollywood Reporter Award in recent years are:

2019 Abel Ferrara
2018 Pavel Pavlikowski
2017 Sean Bean
2016 Christopher Doyle
2015 Mathieu Amalric
2014 Tom Tykwer
2013 Sibel Kekilli
2012 Karl Baumgartner
2011 Paul Abbott for the series SHAMELESS and EXILE
2010 Jon Hamm and Elisabeth Moss for the TV series MAD MEN
2009 Max Wiedemann and Quirin Berg
2008 Christian Becker